veggie kitchen

A poor grad student's thoughts, musings, and other sundries on vegan cooking. Some recipes too!

Sunday, March 05, 2006

Raw-some


this weekend i not only managed (after a couple of years of ho-hawin') to join the local co-op. this is my efforts to get out of shopping mainstream markets and support member owned and local farmers. and weekly working members get a sweet 26% discount on their foodstuffs. sweet!

in turn of these events, i've decided to up the raw in my diet. why's that? the easiest reason is that raw stuff is good for you. more basic, less processed, pure food. the second is that i hate doing dishes, so the less pots and pans to wash, the better (i make a huge mess when i cook). right now i'm making some raw cracker things. we'll see how they turn out. one advantage of having a gas stove is that it is always about 100 degrees in that thing, perfect for making/drying raw food. i'm impatient and wanted something today (well, in the oven today) so i'm soaking some flax, pumpkin, seasme, and some other seed (i forget?). mixed in some lemon juice and soy sauce (not raw, but i have a vegan kitchen, not a raw vegan kitchen!) I'm gonna spoon it into my muffin tin to get nice little shapes and dry them out. i'll let you know how it works.

here are some sprouts i'm growing. the flaxbread stuff turned out great, but i took it to my office and left it there, so no picture.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home